top of page

beach trip

Jan 20, 2014

A woman sees her happily limping through the shallows and asks after her. “No, she’s not well” I reply. As her family moves up ahead on the beach she tells me how sad she finds it watching her lab get older, the cataracts are starting, he is getting creakier. “This is a special last beach trip for her”… I almost manage on an even keel.

A beautiful/sad light comes over her face as she regards me reflectively for a few moments. “She looks happy” she says gently.

And she does. In her strange and tottering lop sidedness she is just wading through the shallows with a big smile.

We get to the gloriously eccentric B&B place – we’ve stayed here before, the most wonderful collection of antique kitsch and dog friendly.

I’ve been trying to get through to the vet – she finally calls back with apologies – we had been thinking about a new treatment but I’m starting to think she is going downhill quicker, just in these last few days – as Erica clarifies the treatment will not give pain relief as such and is untested, I watch as Luca ignores her food for the first time.

I swore to myself that this would be the one sign that would be the cut off point for me. I ask about euthanasia options.


bottom of page